University of Dar es Salaam

University of Dar ES Salaam Mwalimu Nyerere Main Campus, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Update your status of the university

established Established :


campus University Type and Campus :


The University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) is a public university in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. It was established in 1961 as an affiliate college of the University of London. The university became an affiliate of the University of East Africa (UEA) in 1963, shortly after Tanzania gained its independence from the United Kingdom. In 1970, UEA split into three independent universities: Makerere University in Uganda, the University of Nairobi in Kenya, and the University of Dar es Salaam.

Quick facts

Motto: Wisdom is Freedom

Endowment: N/A

Administrative staff: 1,023

Students: 19,650

Undergraduates: 17,098

Postgraduates: 2,552

Male students N/A Female students

Gender ratio (in %)


International students


Students : Staff ratio