De La Salle University

De La Salle University, Taft Avenue, Manila, NCR, Philippines

Update your status of the university

established Established :

June 16, 1911

campus University Type and Campus :


De La Salle University (Tagalog: Pamantasang De La Salle) (also referred to as DLSU or La Salle) is a Roman Catholic, Lasallian research university in Taft Avenue, Malate, Manila, Philippines. It was founded in 1911 by De La Salle Brothers as the De La Salle College in Paco, Manila with Blimond Pierre serving as its first director. The educational institution moved on September 1921 to its present location to facilitate the increase in enrollment. DLSU, granted university status in February 1975, is the oldest constituent of De La Salle Philippines (DLSP), a network of 17 Lasallian institutions established in 2006 to replace the De La Salle University System.

Quick facts

Motto: Religion, Morals, Culture

Endowment: ?286 million (US$6.52 million)

Administrative staff: 1,129

Students: N/A

Undergraduates: 16,193

Postgraduates: 3,949

Male students N/A Female students

Gender ratio (in %)


International students


Students : Staff ratio