Basque Government

Basque Country, Spain

established Established :


The Basque Government is the governing body of the Basque Autonomous Community of Spain. The head of this government is the lehendakari or Basque president that is appointed by the Basque Parliament every four years. Its headquarters are located in the Lakua district of Vitoria-Gasteiz in Álava.

The first Basque Government was created in 1936, upon the approval of its first Statute of Autonomy on October 1. It was headed by the lehendakari José Antonio Aguirre (EAJ-PNV) and was supported by a coalition of all the parties that fought the Francoist forces in the Civil War: Basque Nationalist Party and those comprising the Popular Front (PSOE, Communist Party, Republicans, Basque Nationalist Action). After the defeat of the Spanish Republic in the Civil War, the Basque Government remained in exile, chaired by Jesús María Leizaola since the death of Aguirre in 1960. It was not formally disbanded until the approval of the new Statute of Autonomy, after the death of the Spanish dictator, Francisco Franco, and the recovery of Democracy, in 1979.



No discussions right now. Be the first one to start.

Hey, ask a question or start a discussion here

Choose your question type:

Q/A Profile evaluation Poll Interview experience

Do you work for this organisation?

Start managing your school's profile and gain access to marketing tools and analytics reports.

Request Access
Join the largest Study Abroad community      Log in      Sign up