University of the Basque Country

Campus De Bizkaia - Campus of Biscay, Barrio Sarriena, Leioa, Spain

Update your status of the university

established Established :


campus University Type and Campus :

Public ; Urban

The University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) (Basque - Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (EHU); Spanish - Universidad del País Vasco (UPV)) is the only public university in the Basque Autonomous Community, in Northern Spain. It has campuses over the three provinces of the autonomous community: Biscay Campus (in Leioa, Bilbao, Portugalete and Barakaldo), Gipuzkoa Campus (in San Sebastián and Eibar), and Álava Campus in Vitoria-Gasteiz. It is the main research institution in the Basque Country, carrying out 90% of the basic research made in that territory and taking advantage of the good industrial environment that the region constitutes.

Quick facts

Motto: Eman ta zabal zazu (Give and extend knowledge)

Endowment: N/A

Administrative staff: 3,420 (2009-2010)

Students: 44,921 (2009-2010)

Undergraduates: 42,026 (2009-2010)

Postgraduates: 2,895 (2009-2010)

Male students 47 : 53 Female students

Gender ratio (in %)


International students


Students : Staff ratio

Performance Analysis

International Outlook
Research Citations
Industry income



Hey, ask a question or start a discussion here

Choose your question type:

Q/A Profile evaluation Poll Interview experience
jones elena

jones elena

User medal  0

Get Registered Ielts, Toefl, Tefl, Celta, Gmat.. Certificate

You have problems in getting the required scores in ielts, tefl, celta, toefl...?You need ielts/toef...
Do you work for this organisation?

Start managing your school's profile and gain access to marketing tools and analytics reports.

Request Access
Join the largest Study Abroad community      Log in      Sign up